Don’t pack your bags just yet—these countries have extended flight bans from India

Don’t pack your bags just yet—these countries have extended flight bans from India

May 24, 2021 0 By admin


A passenger wearing a personal protective equipment (PPE) arrives at the Prayagraj domestic airport. Photo:
SANJAY KANOJIA / Contributor

Hoping to book flights out of the country once travel restrictions are lifted? It’s best to keep that plan on hold for now. With the current COVID-19 situation in India, many countries have banned travel from the country and will likely continue to extend the bans until the situation improves. “It is best people do not buy air tickets expecting travel to resume from dates being announced by different countries, to avoid their money getting stuck in airlines,” a Delhi-based travel agent told the Times of India

These countries have extended travel bans from India: 

UAE had placed a ban on arrivals from India starting 25 April for ten days. The ban has now been extended till at least 14 June, with Emirates suspending all passenger flights from India until the given date. Additionally, passengers who have transited through India in the last 14 days will not be accepted to travel from any other point to the UAE. UAE Nationals, holders of UAE Golden Visas and members of diplomatic missions are exempt from the rule as long as they comply with the latest COVID-19 protocol.

Canada, which had implemented a flight ban from India for 30 days starting 22 April, has now extended the ban up to 21 June. The rule applies to all direct commercial and private passenger flights arriving directly from India. If you plan to travel to Canada via an indirect route and layover at another destination first, you will need to take a COVID-19 test prior to departure from the layover destination. 

New to the list is Bahrain, which has announced the suspension of passenger flights from red list countries, including India, starting 24 May. Other red list countries include Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and Sri Lanka. Bahraini citizens and residency holders are exempt from the rule but will have to present a National Health Regulatory Authority approved PCR test certificate conducted no more than 48 hours prior to boarding and undertake another PCR test on arrival and on the tenth day of stay. Additionally, they must also quarantine for ten days at their residence or at a licensed quarantine facility approved by the National Health Regulatory Authority.

Here’s a list of countries that have banned direct passenger flights from India: 

New Zealand
Hong Kong
The Netherlands