KOLKATA: More than a month after the Bidhannagar municipal corporation elections, the mayoral council was finally decided on Monday after a meeting with chief minister Mamata Banerjee. Most of them are loyalists of mayor Sabyasachi Dutta.

There are quite a few surprises — some srtrong contendefs have been left out. According to party insiders, it was earlier decided that those who have been councillors for at least twice in the previous boards of the Bidhannagar municipality will be considered to be MMICs, along with having a minimum qualification of being a graduate. However, quite a few new names who have never been councilors have got selected as MMICs in the Bidhannagar municipal corporation consisting of 41 wards.

Among the few surprising candidates are Birendra Nath Biswas of ward number 22, Pranay Kumar Roy of ward 10 and Prasenjit Sardar of ward number 27. Biswas has been given the portfolio of MIC water, as Roy has been given responsibility of health and Sardar taking over the portfolio to look after sports.

Rajesh Chirimar, the newly elected councilor of ward number 39 has been asked to look after mass education. Rahima Bibi, councilor of ward number 2 has been given the portfolio of MMIC, environment and social welfare.

Only two councilors who were in the fray to be selected as MMIC have got the portfolios. Ward number 32 councillor Sudhir Saha has been given responsibility to look after light and parks and Debasish Jana, the only councilor in the list who was a chairman in council member of the previous Bidhannagar municipality has been given the expected portfolio of MMIC of Solid waste management.

Party sources said that the new names have been selected to be MMICs of the civic corporation keeping in mind that they came out winning the elections as new candidates and also keeping in mind so that no factional feud could occur, as there has been some discontent among a section of the local party circle of Salt Lake of Sabyasachi Dutta being chosen as the mayor of the corporation.

Stay updated on the go with Times of India News App. Click here to download it for your device.

Source: TOI-Kol